Barely hours after they were announced by the chairman of Mawogola, Muteesa Salongo Muhammed Sserwadda, the working committee has taken yet another step, naming Simon “Ddunga” Ddungu as the head coach.

The announcement was made via a document released on the evening of Saturday 2nd, May 2020, confirming him (Simon Ddungu) as the right man to take them to the “promised land”.

This has come as a surprise after rumors circulated that Ddungu had signed with Buwekula, rumors that the 2017 Masaza Cup winner refuted.

“I’m very glad to be named the head coach of Mawogola Ssaza football club. It’s the right decision taken to work with Mawogola,” said Ddungu after his appointment.

“This announcement dilutes the fake news that flooded different outlets, and therefore confirm that I’m to serve Mawogola this season,” Ddungu added.

Ddungu joins Mawogola with a vast experience, having won the Masaza Cup in 2017 with record winners, Gomba.

He (Ddungu) also worked with Buddu in 2018, Buwekula (2014), and Mawokota (2013 and last season).

Ddungu will be working with Jamada Magaasi and Wilson Kacuucu as his assistant coaches, all under Dalausi Jjumba who is the head (technical).

Mawogola are yet to test the sweetness of the championship, with a semifinal berth being their best performance in 2007.

Last year, Bulemeezi defeated Busiro to be crowned the Masaza Cup champions.

The 2020 Buganda Masaza Cup will most probably kick off in June at the Kasana Grounds in Luwero if the lockdown is eased.

As per the norm, the defending champions, Bulemeezi, and the yet-to-be identified opponent, will lock horns.

His Majesty the Kabaka of Buganda, Ronald Muwenda Mutebi Kimera II, will grace the opening match.


1) Patron – Miss Sharts Musherure Namatovu
2) Chairman – Mr. Joel Kasekende
3) Vice Chairman Administration – Mr. Noar Kusasira
4) Vice Chairman Technical – Mr. Dalausi Jjumba
5) General Secretary – Mr. Mulindwa Moses
6) Treasurer – Mr. Tinyefuza Colleb
7) Team Manager – Mr. Edison Kachumitana
8) Public Relations Officer – Mr. Mbuga Swaib
9) Media Officer – Mr. Kavuma Douglas Frank
10) Head Marketing – Mr. Kateregga Uthman
11) Transport officer – Hajjati Hanifa Kawooya
12) Welfare – Mr. Kiganda Muhammad
13) Security officer – Mr. Akanyijuka Andrew
14) Chief Mobiliser – Mrs. Begumisa Mary
15) Camp Manager – Mr. Kateregga Rajab
16) Team Doctor – Mr. Tumwekwase Sebastián
17) Stadium Manager – Mr. Tamale Abaasi


Head Coach – Simon Ddungu
Assistant coach – Jamada Magaasi
2nd Assistant Coach – Wilson Kacuucu

Mr. Jamada Ssemwogerere
Mr. Eric Musumba

Mr. Nganda Sulaiti – Mateete Sub county
Mr. Muhangi Ibrahim – Lwebitakuli Sub County
Mr. Ssenkumba – Ntuusi Sub County
Mr. Madi Kabanda – Lwemitaga
Mr. Mukisa Steven – Ssembabule Town Council
Madam Dianah – Ssembabule Town Council
Mr. Bukenya Lawrence – Mijwala Sub County
Mr. Vincent Lwasa – Mijwala Sub County
Mr. Livingston Kansiime – Lugusula


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here