FUFA has revealed the five players to compete for this year’s Airtel-FUFA awards best male footballer.

The much anticipated Airtel-sponsored awards are due December 14 at the Speke resort, Munyonyo. The top five include; Bright Anukani (Proline), Allan Okello and Mustapha Kizza (KCCA), Shafiq Kagimu (URA) and Allan Kayiwa (Tooro United/Vipers SC).

Mustafa Kizza in action for Cranes

The shortlist for the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards was reduced to just five nominees both in the male and female categories following a thorough voting process that involved coaches and captains in the Uganda Premier League and coaches in the FUFA Women Super League and the FUFA Women Elite League.

With the top five nominees in the male and female category confirmed, the stage is now set for the fans to getting involved in voting for their best player.

Allan Kayiwa

The top 5 nominees include:

Airtel FUFA Male nominees

  • Allan Okello –KCCA FC
  • Mustafa Kizza –KCCA FC
  • Allan Kayiwa –Tooro United FC/Vipers SC
  • Shafic Kagimu –URA FC
  • Bright Anukani –Proline FC
URA FC Captain Shafik Kagimu with a Man of the match accolade

Airtel FUFA Female nominees

  • Fauzia Najjemba – Isra Soccer Academy/ Kampala Queens
  • Hasifa Nassuna – UCU Lady Cardinals
  • Shadia Nankya – Uganda Martyrs/ UCU Lady Cardinals
  • Daizy Nakaziro – Lady Doves
  • Juliet Nalukenge Kawempe Muslim

How the fans will vote?

Fans can vote via SMS by typing the word FUFA (Capital letters), leave a space and enter code attached to the player and send to 8008.

Airtel FUFA Male nominees

  • Bright Anuka –Proline FC – 101
  • Allan Okello –KCCA FC – 102
  • Shafik Kagimu –URA FC – 103
  • Allan Kayiwa –Tooro United FC/Vipers SC – 104
  • Musitafa Kizza –KCCA – 105
  • Bright Anukani

Airtel FUFA Female nominees

  • Juliet Nalukenge – Kawempe Muslim – 201
  • Fauzia Najjemba – Isra Soccer Academy/Kampala Queens- 202
  • Hasifa Nassuna – UCU Lady Cardinals – 203
  • Daizy Nakaziro – Lady Doves -204
  • Shadia Nankya- Uganda Martyrs/ UCU Lady Cardinals – 205

The new category of the team fans of the year will also be subjected to voting and below are the codes.

To vote, enter the word FUFA, leave a space, choose team fans and send to 8008.

Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions)

  • KCCA FC -301
  • Onduparaka FC -302
  • SC Villa – 303
  • Tooro United FC – 304
  • Acholi Province -305
  • West Nile Province- 306
  • Lango Province -307
  • Bunyoro Province- 308

The four categories that require voting is fans’ Ugandan foreign-based player. This caters for only Ugandan players plying their trade abroad.

To vote in this category, enter the word FUFA, leave a space, name of the player and send to 8007

The 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards dinner will be held on 14th December at Speke Resort Munyonyo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here